top of page

Our 2023 Agenda

You will gain the ability to describe and critically analyze recent research on the mechanisms and management of pain with our diverse, multidisciplinary membership. You'll integrate activities and understanding that will help improve access to high-quality pain care, including preventing and treating pain more effectively. 


Concurrent sessions have been coordinated to encompass mechanisms of pain; biopsychosocial factors of pain; pain treatments; and pain programs, education, policy, and advocacy.

All efforts will be in place to avoid any timing adjustments, that may occur without advance notice. All timing for this event is in Mountain Daylight Time. 


View speaker Conflicts of Interest.

Late Breaking Abstracts

The Scientific Planning Committee seeks to offer a balanced, diverse, and cutting-edge scientific program that reflects different areas of science from all members of the pain community.  Your participation is of the utmost importance and will be integral for the success of the 2023 Annual Scientific Meeting and continued progress in pain research and management.  All abstracts must be submitted through the CPS abstract submission portal below before Tuesday February 28th by 2259h ET

A comprehensive summary of the scopes, methods, results, and conclusions of all our approved poster presentations.

2023 Poster Presentations

A deep dive into the abstracts of our keynote, plenaries, and many distinguished speakers presenting during our Seven (7) concurrent sessions.

2023 Symposia Abstracts

A few snaps from the 2023 ASM at the Banff Springs Hotel

Fostering collaborative relationships and knowledge translations between research scientists, health care professionals, trainees, and persons with lived experience, all with a shared focus on pain.  

Our 2023 Annual Scientific Meeting

May 10 — 13, 2023 at The Banff Springs Hotel.

Individuals with an interest in pain from all around the world, coming together to share knowledge and expertise on the latest advancements in pain mechanisms, evaluation, and management.

✶ Keynote Speaker

Claudia Sommer

University Hospital Würzburg, Germany

A Professor of Neurology at the University of Würzburg, Germany. She received training in neurology, psychiatry, neuropathology, and experimental pain research. At the University Hospital of Würzburg, she serves as a consultant in neurology, organizes outpatient clinics for patients with neuromuscular disorders, pain and headache, and she leads the Peripheral Nerve Laboratory. Research interests are the pathophysiology of pain, of inflammatory neuropathies, and of antibody-mediated diseases. She has written more than 250 original research papers and more than 100 reviews and book-chapters and edited several books. She has served as President of the German Pain Society in 2019-2020 and as President of the International Society for the Study of Pain (IASP, 2020-2022). She is a Fellow of the European Academy of Neurology, and a Board member of the Peripheral Nerve Society (PNS) and the International Research Consortium for CRPS. She is also Deputy Editor of the European Journal of Neurology.

✶ Plenary Speaker

Ru-Rong Ji


Dr. Ji is a distinguished Professor of Duke University, William Maixner Professor of Anesthesiology, a Professor of Cell Biology and Neurobiology. He is also Director of the Center for Translational Pain Center (CTPM) at Duke Medical Center. He has been working on mechanisms and therapeutics of chronic pain for over 25 years, which has resulted in 240 publications, including many papers in high impact journals. His lab studies how glial cells and immune cells regulate the pathogenesis and resolution of pain. His research has contributed to conceptual advances in pain research areas such as “neuroimmune interactions”, “gliosis”, “neuroinflammation”. He has promoted the resolution concept of pain for more than a decade, by studying the role of specialized pro-resolving mediators (SPMs) and their receptors in neurons, glial cells, and immune cells. Dr. Ji is a Highly Cited Researcher by Web of Science/Clarivate in the last five years. Dr. Ji received his PhD from Chinese Academy of Sciences. He had been a faculty member at Harvard Medical School for 12 years before joining Duke University.

✶ Plenary Speaker

Gaynor Watson-Creed

MD, MSc, CCFP, FRCPC, DSc (hc)

The Associate Dean of Serving and Engaging Society for Dalhousie University’s Faculty of Medicine, and past Chair of the Board of Engage Nova Scotia. She is a public health specialist physician with 17 years experience, having served as the former Medical Officer of Health for the Halifax area and Deputy Chief Medical Officer of Health for Nova Scotia. She served as a member of the One Nova Scotia Coalition economic strategy table in Nova Scotia and was recently a member of the federal Task Force on Women in the Economy. Dr. Watson-Creed has an MD from Dalhousie University, an MSc from the University of Guelph, a BSc from the University of Prince Edward Island, and an honorary doctorate from Acadia University. She also sits as chair or member of several national population health councils and boards and is a passionate advocate for high-quality public health services in Canada.

Our Distinguished Speakers

bottom of page