Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
CPS Awards & Grants
Share |


The Canadian Pain Society's Awards and Grants Program offers a number of career, service, research and travel awards. To be eligible to apply to the awards program, nominees and self-applicants must be CPS members in good standing (some exceptions apply, read each award description for full eligibility criteria). Award recipients are announced at the Annual Scientific Meeting, at the Awards Gala. For more information about each individual award and grant, click on their titles below.


To apply for an award or grant, you must be a CPS member in good standing (some exceptions may apply, read each award description for full eligibility criteria).
Become a member today by clicking on the button below.


To view a full list of past award and grant recipients, click on the button below.







In collaboration with the Canadian Pain Society, the Canadian Journal of Pain is pleased to announce the RONALD MELZACK - CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PAIN 2017 PAPER OF THE YEAR AWARD / PRIX RONALD MELZACK POUR L'ANNÉE 2017 DES ARTICLES PARUS DANS LA REVUE CANADIENNE DE LA DOULEUR. One representative from each winning paper (one for basic/pre-clinical sciences and one for applied/clinical sciences) will be honoured at the Canadian Pain Society Annual Meeting Awards Dinner on Thursday May 24, 2018. The winning papers will be selected by the Editor-in-Chief, in consultation with the Editorial Board, from all Canadian Journal of Pain articles with a 2017 publication date. The prize for the 2017 awardees will be a ticket to the Gala dinner at the Annual Meeting and a voucher waiving article processing fees for a manuscript submitted to the Canadian Journal of Pain in 2018.


Congratulations to the recipients of the 2018 CPS Awards!

Distinguished Career Award

Dr. Gordon J.G. Asmundson (University of Regina)

Early Career Award

Dr. Natalie Rosen (Dalhousie University)

Outstanding Pain Mentorship Award

Dr. Christine Chambers (Dalhousie University)

Nursing Excellence in Pain Management

Mrs. Dawn Petit (Westview Primary Care Network/Parkland Chronic Pain Clinic)

Pain Awareness Award                              

Dr. Susan Bennett (BC Children's Hospital)

Poster Competition Finalists






Mrs. Annemarie Dedek - Mechanisms of spinal hyperexcitability in rat and human models of pathological pain

Mr. Michael Mousseau - P2X7R mediated IL-1B release from microglia is a spinal determinant of arthritis joint pain

Dr. Seunghwan Lee- Progression of pathological disc degeneration, innervation and macrophage infiltration over 12 months following single lumbar disc puncture in mice.

Ms. Catherine Paré - Level of Catastrophizing and Depression Co-Morbidity Following Whiplash Injury

Dr. James Khan - Perioperative pregabalin and intraoperative lidocaine infusion to reduce persistent neuropathic pain after breast cancer surgery: a multicenter, factorial, randomized controlled pilot trial

Ms. Brittany Rosenbloom - Postoperative chronic pain and opioid use after major pediatric orthopedic surgery

Trainee Research Award

Mr. Jiale (Gary) Hu (University of Ottawa) - Clinical Science

Dr. Luca Posa (McGill University) - Basic Science

Early Career Investigator Pain Research Grant

Dr. Gabrielle Pagé (Université de Montréal) - Clinical Science

Dr. Nader Ghasemlou (Queen's University) - Basic Science

Trainee Travel Grant

Guillaume Martel, Shanaya Fischer, Robert Ungard, Shaylea Badovinac, Brittany Rosenbloom, Britney Benoit, Yalinie Kulandaivelu, Hannah Gennis, Maria Pavlova, Annemarie Dedek, Tara McGrath, Olof Kristjansdottir, Shehnaz Fatima Lakha, Mariana Bueno, Katelynn Boerner, Kathryn Birnie, Tanya Miladinovic, Bart Witjes

Ronald Melzack -
Canadian Journal of Pain 2017 Paper of the Year Award
Dr. Gabrielle Pagé (Université de Montréal) - Predicting treatment outcomes of pain patients attending tertiary multidisciplinary pain treatment centers: A pain trajectory approach