Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
2019 Toronto, ON
Share |

Click for our 2020 ASM Information



Previous Events: 

2019 Annual Scientific Meeting

The 2019 CPS 40th Annual Scientific Meeting will create a forum in which scientists, healthcare professionals, and trainees from clinical, educational, research, policy and industry settings can meet and exchange up-to-date information on pain mechanisms, pain assessment, and pain management. This event promotes core values of professionalism and competency-based education and advocates on behalf of patients with acute and chronic pain. This year’s event is not to be missed!


Online Registration is Now Closed 

Registrations after March 28th will take place onsite from
4:00pm Tuesday, April 2 through to 10:00am Friday, April 5
at the Sheraton Centre, 123 Queen Street West (Lower Concourse)





Canadian Pain Society’s Annual Scientific Meeting, April 2-5, 2019

This continuing professional development activity will be held under the auspices of Continuing Professional Development, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto.


College of Family Physicians of Canada – Mainpro+: a CERT+ ID# 189615-002
This one-credit-per-hour Group Learning program meets the certification criteria of the College of Family Physicians of Canada and has been certified by Continuing Professional Development, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto for up to 15 Mainpro+ credits. 

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada – Section 1
This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, approved by Continuing Professional Development, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto. You may claim a maximum of 15 hours.




Lars Arendt-Nielsen, Dr. Med., PhD, (Denmark), Founder & Director, Center for Sensory-Motor Interaction (SMI); Professor, Department of Health Science and Technology, School of Medicine, Aalborg University, Denmark

Dr. Arendt-Nielsen has been engaging in pain research, pain education, and pain policy for more than 30 years and has worked at various institutions around the world. He is the founder and director of Center for International Sensory-Motor Interaction, Aalborg University, Denmark, which employs over 80 researchers and Ph.D. students. He has published more than 910 peer-reviewed papers on translational, experimental, and clinical pain research. His research is focused on development and application of human, quantitative, mechanistic pain biomarkers in 1) human experimental pain studies, 2) clinical pain studies (specifically musculoskeletal and visceral pain conditions) and 3) in studies profiling pain management procedures and new drugs under development (phase Ib and IIa proof-of-concept studies). 

Dr. Arendt-Nielsen has lived and worked in in England, Sweden and Japan; has delivered more than 250 keynote lectures at international conferences, and has collaborated with over 20 pain research centres and clinics around the world. He has a keen interest in supporting pain patient organizations in their efforts to help their members to be recognized by political and health care systems. 

In 2007, he was knighted by the Danish Queen, has received numerous prestigious awards for his contributions to science and innovation within the field and is the founder of the clinical trial center C4Pain.

Dr. Arendt-Nielsen is currently the President of the International Association for the Study of Pain.


Brigitte Kieffer, PhD, Scientific Director at the Douglas Mental Health University Institute; Professor, Department of Psychiatry, McGill University; Chair, Monique H. Bourgeois in Pervasive Developmental Disorders, Faculty of Medicine of McGill University; Canada Research Chair in Neurobiology of Addiction and Mood Disorders


Dr. Kieffer is a Professor at the Department of Psychiatry, McGill University and has been the Scientific Director of the Douglas Mental Health Research Center in Montréal since 2014. She also is Professor at the Université de Strasbourg France, where she developed most her past research activity (IGBMC, one of the leading European centres of biomedical research).

Professor Kieffer isolated the first gene encoding an opioid receptor, opening an entire research field towards understanding the molecular basis of opioid-controlled behaviors. Her genetic dissection of the opioid system has brought major advances in pain, addiction and mood disorders research, as well as in the area of molecular pharmacology and G protein coupled receptor research. She has developed and shared exquisite genetic tools worldwide, and has developed innovative research lines with strong impact in neuroscience and biomedical research.

She has received numerous awards, including the Lounsbery (French and US Academies of Science) and the Lamonica Award of Neurology (French Academy of Science). In march 2014, she also received the International L’OREAL-UNESCO Award for Women in Science (European Laureate). She became an EMBO (European Molecular Biology Organization) member in 2009 and was elected as a member of the French Academy of Sciences in 2013.


Beverly E. Thorn, PhD, Professor and Chair, Clinical Health Psychology, Psychology Department, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL



Dr. Thorn received her doctorate in bioclinical psychology from Southern Illinois University in 1980. She has held research grants fromNIH, the VA, and private companies. She is a fellow in the Society of Behavioral Medicine and the American Psychological Association, and she is board certified in clinical health psychology by the American Board of Professional Psychology.

Dr. Thorn’s research interests include assessment and treatment of persistent painful conditions; health behaviors; and living with chronic illness. Her research involves the psychosocial assessment and cognitive-behavioral treatment for persistent pain. Her current funding is from the Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute and NIH.

                           We look forward to seeing you April 2 - 5, in Toronto!