top of page

Focus on Migraine

May 11th 2023 — A Virtual Event

A free, national event for researchers and licensed healthcare providers focusing on the diagnosis and treatment of migraine headaches.  This event will showcase presentations from expert and knowledgeable speakers from across Canada and the United States to provide novel treatments and techniques to improve care for people who live with pain.


  • Twitter_Canadian Pain Society
  • Facebook_Canadian Pain Society
  • Instagram_Canadian Pain Society
  • LinkedIn_Canadian Pain Society

Missed a Session?

Pain Across the Lifespan: From the Clinic to the Lab.

November 25, 2022

Finding New Targets for Pain: From Pre-clinical to Clinical Biomarkers.  

October 28, 2022

Director of the Caleo Headache Clinic. He has dozens of peer reviewed publications, and has co-authored a textbook on Neurosurgery. He was a co-developer of the first MRI-compatible microsurgical robot, NeuroArm. He is a recipient of the Canadian Stroke Society Prize.

Dr. Deon Louw

Director of the Calgary Caleo Migraine Clinic, Alberta.

He is a Mayo Clinic Distinguished Investigator and Distinguished Educator. He founded and directed the headache and concussion programs at Mayo Clinic. He is Affiliate Professor at the University of Copenhagen, Guest Professor at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, and Adjunct Professor at Thomas Jefferson University. He has authored more than 900 peer-reviewed manuscripts and abstracts and authored/edited 13 books. He is the Chief Science Officer and Co-Chair of the Atria Academy of Science and Medicine. He is the co-founder and Chair of the International Concussion Society. He is the Chair of the American Brain Foundation and Chair of the International Headache Society’s Global Patient Advocacy Coalition. He is the Immediate Past- Chair of the American Migraine Foundation. He is a former Editor-in-Chief of Cephalalgia, a Past-President of the American Headache Society and a Past-President of the International Headache Society.

Dr. David Dodick

Emeritus Professor of Neurology at The Mayo Clinic.  Presenting from Alberta.

Dr. Spacey is a Neurologist and Clinical Associate Professor in the Division of Neurology at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. She completed a residency in Neurology at the University of British Columbia and a fellowship in Neurogenetics at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, Queens Square, London England. She is Director of the UBC Headache Clinic and UBC Neurogenetics Clinic. She is past president of the Canadian Headache Society and Director of the UBC Clinician Investigator Program. She is actively involved in teaching medical students, residents and fellows through the university and she lectures nationally and internationally. Her research interest and publications are in the field of calcium channels and the pathogenesis and molecular genetics of migraine.

Dr. Sian Spacey

Director of the UBC Headache Clinic, British Columbia.

Dr Blumenfeld is a member and fellow of both the American Academy of Neurology and the American Headache Society. He is the founding chair of the American Headache Society section on Interventional Procedures for Headache. He has published widely and has over 100 publications. One of his manuscripts was voted the top publication in the Headache journal. His research interests have focused on the use of Botox for migraine. He helped to develop the injection protocol used in the pivotal migraine trials. He teaches other providers on this procedure nationally and internationally. He has been an active researcher in headache with 26 issued patents for various treatments. He consults with numerous pharmaceutical companies involved with medications related to headache disorders, and more details can be found through The Sunshine Act.

Dr. Andrew Blumenfeld

Director of the Headache Center of Southern California, Presenting from the United States.

Dr Elizabeth Leroux did her neurology training at University of Montreal. She did a two-year fellowship in Paris. She directed the headache clinic of Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (2010-2016), then the CHAMP multidisciplinary program of the University of Calgary (2017- 2019). Dr Leroux is Past President of the Canadian Headache Society, the founder of Migraine Quebec and founder and Chair of Migraine Canada. She now works at the Brunswick Medical Center and is a Faculty Lecturer for McGill’s Neurology Department. She’s passionate about education and advocacy for headache disorders.

Dr. Elizabeth Leroux 

Migraine Specialist and Past President of the Canadian Headache Society, Quebec.

Dr. Amoozegar is a neurologist and Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Calgary. She completed undergraduate studies and her medical training at the University of Calgary, followed by a neurology residency at the University of Ottawa. She then returned to Calgary and completed subspecialty training in the area of Headache and Facial pain with Dr. Werner Becker, followed by a Masters Degree in Clinical Epidemiology. Currently, Dr. Amoozegar practices as a neurologist and headache specialist at the University of Calgary and the Calgary Headache Assessment and Management Program. In addition to clinical practice, she is heavily involved in clinical research, and education of colleagues, fellows, residents and medical students in various settings.

Dr. Farnaz Amoozegar

Neurologist and Headache Specialist at the University of Calgary.

Our Distinguished Speakers

Our Exhibitors

The Canadian Pain Society thanks the following organizations for their continued support.

bottom of page